Sep 26, 2009

The League Series by Sherrilyn Kenyon - Promo

Good news for Sherrilyn Kenyon fans the first book from The League Series, Born of Night, will be available Tuesday September 29th. Sherrilyn is best known to vampire fiction readers for the Dark-Hunter books.

An overview of The League series: In the Ichidian Universe, The League and their ruthless assassins rule all. Expertly trained and highly valued, the League Assassins are the backbone of the government. But not even the League is immune to corruption . .

Command Assassin Nykyrian Quikiades once turned his back on the League—and has been hunted by them ever since. Though many have tried, none can kill him or stop him from completing his current mission: to protect Kiara Zamir, a woman whose father’s political alliance has made her a target.

As her world becomes even deadlier, Kiara must entrust her life to the same kind of beast who once killed her mother and left her for dead. Old enemies and new threaten them both and the only way they can survive is to overcome their suspicions and learn to trust in the very ones who threaten them the most: each other.

Read an excerpt of Born of Night

Books in The League series:

Born of Night (A League Novel) St. Martin's Paperbacks (September 29, 2009)
Born of Fire (A League Novel)St. Martin's Paperbacks (November 3, 2009)
Born of Ice (A League Novel) St. Martin's Paperbacks (December 1, 2009)

Background on how the series came to be: "Sherri originally planned for the League to be an ongoing series. She wrote 5 complete novels and started on five more. The first novel was bought and published by Kensington. The proposal for the second and third novels, Born of Fire and Born of Desire, remained there for over two years as option books that were never purchased.

"The fourth finished book, Paradise City was purchased by Dorchester and ended up being the first book to make it into print. Sadly, Dorchester passed on the next three books in the series, as well as the manuscript for Night Pleasures that would have launched the Dark-Hunter books.

"Born of Fire was ultimately completed and ended up being the first ebook published by a New York author in 1996. Fire and Ice, which was the sequel to Paradise City was cut down and then published as a novella (it alone has remained in print since the day it was published. Berkley will rerelease it in March 2010).

Caillen's story remains finished, but unpublished.

Trailer for Born of Night


Jessica Kennedy said...

I'm looking forward to this new series!

Leontine said...

I heard she re-written it and I have the first one on its way to me and the other two on pre-order. Way back when,like three years ago, when I discovered her Dark-Hunters these books were OOP and they sold on ebay for huge amounts of cash. I am so glad I waited it out.

Patricia Altner said...

Hello Jessica

Yes, Kenyon certainly knows how to tell a good story!


You were wise to wait :)
These books sound like new and much improved versions.